clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Boston College Women's Soccer Releases 2014 Schedule

New, comments

The Eagles look to make a 12th consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament this fall.

On Wednesday, the Boston College women's soccer team released its 2014 schedule. The women's team has been arguably the most consistent varsity sport not played on water, with the Eagles making 11 consecutive NCAA Tournaments and 13 overall under head coach Alison Foley.

Last year BC finished the regular season with just a 10-9-1 record overall, falling to North Carolina 1-0 in the first round of the ACC Tournament. But the lady Eagles turned it up for the NCAA Tournament, dispatching Northeastern (2-0), Nebraska (4-1) and Illinois (4-1) before falling to Florida State, 4-0; one game short of the NCAA Tournament's College Cup / Final Four.

After a scrimmage against Maine on August 16, the season opens on Friday, August 22 as the Eagles host Colgate. From there, BC hits the road for a six-game stretch that includes Boston University, Jacksonville, North Florida, Northeastern, UW Milwaukee and Illinois State.

Boston College returns home for two non-conference games against Harvard (9/12) and South Florida (9/21) before opening ACC play against the defending conference champion, Florida State, on Sunday, September 21. After two more ACC home games against Pitt and Clemson, the Eagles then hit the road for a three-game road stretch that starts in Syracuse (10/4) and proceeds to take BC to Virginia (10/9) and Louisville (10/12). After a home game vs. N.C. State on October 19, the Eagles once again hit the road for two in North Carolina -- Wake Forest (10/23) and Duke (10/26) -- before wrapping up the regular season at home vs. Notre Dame on November 1.

Overall, the Eagles have a fairly challenging 19-game schedule, including 10 games against teams that qualified for the 2013 NCAA Tournament. Boston College does catch a break on the ACC conference schedule, however; missing both North Carolina (20-5-0, 10-3-0 ACC) and Virginia Tech (19-5-3, 9-3-1 ACC) during the regular season. The other team BC misses on the 10-game league sched is Miami (9-8-1, 4-8-1 ACC). Can't win 'em all.

Matches against Virginia, Florida State, Wake Forest, Duke and Notre Dame loom large, but the early season six-game road stretch and matches against Pittsburgh, Colgate and N.C. State should provide ample opportunity to pad the win column and qualify for the NCAA Tournament for the 12th straight season.

If in town for one of the football team's home games this year, consider hanging around an extra day and cheer on one of the school's most successful varsity programs:

Friday, 9/12 vs. Harvard (USC weekend)

Sunday, 9/21 vs. Florida State (Maine weekend)

Sunday, 9/28 vs. Clemson (Colorado State / Parent's weekend)

Sunday, 10/19 vs. N.C. State (Clemson / Homecoming weekend)

2014 Boston College Women's Soccer Schedule (season-ending RPI in parenthesis)

Sat. 16-Aug Maine (Scrimmage) (155) 6 p.m.
Fri. 22-Aug Colgate (110) 7 p.m.
Sun. 24-Aug at Boston University (30) 7 p.m.
Fri. 29-Aug at Jacksonville (117) 6 p.m.
Sun. 31-Aug at North Florida (209) 1 p.m.
Wed. 3-Sep at Northeastern (140) 6 p.m.
Fri. 5-Sep at UW Milwaukee (82) 6 p.m.
Sun. 7-Sep at Illinois State (66) 2 p.m.
Fri. 12-Sep Harvard (52) 4 p.m.
Thu. 18-Sep South Florida (53) 7 p.m.
Sun. 21-Sep Florida State (3) 1 p.m.
Thu. 25-Sep Pittsburgh (202) 7 p.m.
Sun. 28-Sep Clemson (76) 1 p.m.
Sat. 4-Oct at Syracuse (100) 7 p.m.
Thu. 9-Oct at Virginia (1) 7 p.m.
Sun. 12-Oct at Louisville (27) 1 p.m.
Sun. 19-Oct N.C. State (103) 1 p.m.
Thu. 23-Oct at Wake Forest (17) 7 p.m.
Sun. 26-Oct at Duke (24) 1 p.m.
Sat. 1-Nov Notre Dame (25) 7 p.m.
Fri. 7-Nov ACC Seminfinals TBA
Sun. 9-Nov ACC Finals TBA
Nov. 14-16 NCAA Tournament First Round TBA
Nov. 21, 23 NCAA Tournament 2nd & 3rd Rounds TBA
Nov. 28 or 29 NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals TBA
Dec. 5 & 7 NCAA Tournament College Cup TBA