clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Men’s Basketball’s Ky Bowman Wins BCI’s Award for Male Rookie of the Year

Under Armour Reunion Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

With the end of the 2016-17 athletic season for Boston College Athletics in the rear-view mirror, BC Interruption will be releasing its yearly awards over the upcoming days. The awards were voted upon by the members of the BC Interruption staff. Awards range from Male and Female Players of the Year to Players who we feel most represent what it means to be a member of a Boston College team.

The first award we are releasing is the Male Rookie of the Year award, which is awarded to freshman Ky Bowman of the Boston College Men’s Basketball Program.

Bowman arrived to the Heights along with highly touted recruit Ty Graves at the beginning of the year. Bowman out-played Graves, resulting in Bowman winning the starting role.

Bowman’s first foray into the limelight came on the big stage, against Auburn at Madison Square Garden. At the Garden, Bowman dazzled the attending crowd with his fearless style of play. Bowman went 5-for-10 from the field, and put in 15 points.

Under Armour Reunion Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

After Graves left the program, Bowman seized the starting role, and made his mark in ACC play. Bowman’s first game in conference was one to remember, where he dropped 30 points against in-conference rival Syracuse, powering BC to a 96-81 thumping of the Orange.

NCAA Basketball: Syracuse at Boston College Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

Bowman continued his torrid play in conference, finishing the year with 14.3 points per game, and 2.9 assists per game.

Bowman was named to the ACC’s All-ACC Freshman team prior to the ACC Tournament, the first player from BC to be named to the team since Oliver Hanlan in 2013, a fitting honor considering Bowman led all ACC freshmen in field goal percentage, 3-point percentage and 3-pointers made.

Bowman beat out other vote-getters men’s hockey’s David Cotton and sailing’s Scott Rasmussen for the award.