clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Hockey Hands Out Year-End Awards, Names 2016-17 Captains

News from the 2016 Pike's Peak Hockey Club awards banquet

Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

The Pike's Peak Hockey Club at Boston College held its 67th annual postseason awards banquet on Sunday at the Westin Waltham hotel, wrapping up another season of BC hockey and beginning the countdown to 2016-17.

For the second consecutive year, Thatcher Demko was honored as the team's co-MVP, with junior Ryan Fitzgerald sharing in the honors. Demko was a top-3 finalist for the Hobey Baker Award and won the Mike Richter Award as the nation's top goaltender. Fitzgerald, a Boston Bruins draft pick, was the team's leading scorer.

Senior captain Teddy Doherty and senior forward/defensemen Travis Jeke shared the honors of the John "Snooks" Kelley Award, given annually to the player who best typifies what Boston College hockey is all about. Both were highly deserving of the honor, switching back and forth from forward to D as requested by the staff and fighting through periods where they weren't playing regularly. Through it all, both exemplified commitment and dedication to the team.

Colin White won the Bernie Berke Award for Most Outstanding Freshman. Junior center Austin Cangelosi won the James E. Tiernan Award for Most Improved Player.

Two Eagle seniors were also noted for academic accomplishment over the course of their four years at BC - Peter McMullen and Teddy Doherty. McMullen was also honored with the Coaches Award, voted on by Jerry York and his staff.

An interesting news tidbit came out at the end of the dinner, as BC named its captains for 2016-17. Chris Calnan and Ian McCoshen were elected as co-captains, while Ryan Fitzgerald and Austin Cangelosi were named alternate captains. While McCoshen's selection as captain does not confirm for sure he will be returning next year, it certainly begins to point in that direction.

Congrats to all members of the 2015-16 Eagles on another outstanding season. On to 2017 and hopefully a trip to Chicago!