clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College's Johnny Gaudreau Wins 62nd Walter Brown Award

Johnny Hockey doing Johnny Hockey things.

In what figures to be the first of several pieces of individual hardware earned this season, Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau has been named the winner of the 62nd Walter Brown Award. The award is presented annually by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Gaudreau finishes first in the voting, ahead of linemate Bill Arnold. Bentley's Steve Weinstein finishes as the best non-Boston College American-born college hockey player in New England. New Guy!

The Carneys Point, NJ native has 69 points (32 goals, 37 assists) heading into the Eagles' NCAA Tournament matchup with Denver. During the season, Gaudreau tied a Hockey East record point with a 31-game point streak from November 1, 2013 to March 15, 2014, averaging 1.91 points per game and a +33 rating in those games.

His 69 points is the 10th most prolific season in program history.

Here is the list of previous Walter Brown Award recipients from Boston College, one that includes current Boston College coaches Jerry York (1967), associate head coach Greg Brown (1990) and Mike Ayers (2003, UNH):

1954 - Bob Babine
1961 - Tom Martin
1963 - Bill Hogan
1966 - John Cunniff
1967 - Jerry York
1968 - Tim Sheehy
1969 - Paul Hurley
1970 - Tim Sheehy
1973 - Tom Mellor
1976 - Richie Smith
1978 - Joe Mullen
1980 - Bill Army
1981 - Mark Switaj
1986 - Scott Harlow
1987 - Brian Leetch
1990 - Greg Brown
1991 - David Emma
1999 - Mike Mottau
2000 - Mike Mottau
2001 - Brian Gionta
2006 - Chris Collins
2011 - John Muse
2013 - Steven Whitney
2014 - Johnny Gaudreau

Congratulations Johnny.