clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Hockey: Arnold, Hayes And Gaudreau Named Walter Brown Award Semifinalists

Billy Arnold, Kevin Hayes and #JohnnyHockey all named Walter Brown Award semifinalists.


On Monday, forwards Bill Arnold, Kevin Hayes and Johnny Gaudreau were all named semifinalists for the 62nd Walter Brown Award. The Walter Brown Award is presented annually to the best American-born Division I men's college hockey player in New England.

Boston College leads the way with three of the 16 semifinalists, while Yale, Quinnipiac and Bentley (New Guy!) each have two.

Arnold, Hayes or Gaudreau are looking to become the 24th Walter Brown Award recipient to play on the Heights; a distinguished list that includes Jerry York (1967), Joe Mullen (1978), Brian Leetch (1987), Greg Brown (1990), David Emma (1991), Mike Mottau (1999, 2000) and Brian Gionta (2001). BC's Steven Whitney won the award last year.

Sr. F Kenny Agostino, Yale
Fr. F Sam Anas, Quinnipiac
Sr. F Bill Arnold, Boston College
Jr. F Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College

Sr. F Brett Gensler, Bentley
Sr. F Kevin Hayes, Boston College
So. G Connor Hellebuyck, Lowell
Jr. F Ross Mauermann, Providence
Sr. F Chris McCarthy, Vermont
So. F Mark Naclerio, Brown
So. F Danny O'Regan, Boston University
Sr. F Jesse Root, Yale
Sr. F Jordan Samuels-Thomas, Quinnipiac
So. F Jimmy Vesey, Harvard
Jr. D Steve Weinstein, Bentley
Jr. G Clay Witt, Northeastern