clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College vs. Syracuse: The Orrie T. Scarminach Memorial Award Returns

Today's game MVP will be presented with the Orrie T. Scarminach Trophy


The Eagles will award the Scharminach Memorial award to BC's Most Valuable Player after Saturday's game, a tradition that started in 1982. Orrie Scarminach was a former BC football player from Syracuse who was killed in an automobile accident in 1982. After a one-time hiatus, the award has returned. It will be presented in the BC locker room after the game.

In 2010, the award was given to running back Andre Williams after rushing for 185 yards on a school-record 42 carries and scoring a touchdown.

The award has been won by some of Boston College and Syracuse football's most distinguished alumni, including Doug Flutie, Glenn Foley, Don McPherson and Donovan McNabb. Glad to see both schools will restart this BC-SU tradition in memory of a fallen Eagle and Syracuse native this season.

Orrie T. Scarminach Memorial Award
Most Valuable Player in the annual Boston College vs. Syracuse football game

1982 - Vic Crawford, BC
1983 - Troy Stratford, BC
1984 - Doug Flutie, BC
1985 - Kelvin Martin, BC, Scott Schwedes, SU
1986 - John Bosa, BC, Don McPherson, SU
1987 - Darren Flutie, BC, Don McPherson, SU
1988 - Tom Waddle, BC, Daryl Johnston, SU
1989 - Rico Labbe, BC, Rob Moore, SU
1990 - Mike Bumpus, BC, Rob Carpenter, SU
1991 - Chuckie Dukes, BC, Antonio Johnson, SU
1992 - Chuckie Dukes, BC, Marvin Graves, SU
1993 - Glenn Foley, BC
1994 - Mike Mamula, BC, Dan Conley, SU
1995 - Rob Clifford, BC, Rob Konrad, SU
1996 - Erik Storz, BC, Donovan McNabb, SU
1997 - Matt Hasselbeck, BC
1998 - Anthony DiCosmo, BC
1999 - Tim Hasselbeck, BC
2000 - Ralph Parent, BC, James Mungro, SU
2001 - William Green, BC
2002 - Derrick Knight, BC, Sean Ryan, BC, Walter Reyes, SU
2003 - Mathias Kiwanuka, BC, R.J. Anderson, SU
2004 - Ray Henderson, BC, Diamond Ferri, SU
2010 - Andre Williams, BC