clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Football: Six Eagles Earn All-ACC Recognition From Coaches

The accolades continue to roll in for the dudes ...

Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

On Tuesday, six Eagles earned All-ACC Team honors, as determined by the league's 14 coaches. Center Andy Gallik led the way for the Eagles as a second-team selection. Offensive guard Bobby Vardaro, running back Jon Hilliman, defensive tackle Connor Wujciak and linebacker Josh Keyes were named to the third team, while offensive tackle Ian Silberman earned honorable mention honors.

Gallik was edged out for first-team honors by Miami senior center Shane McDermott by a single vote: 22 to 21. The Evergreen Park, Illinois native was named to the All-ACC First Team by the media and is a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, given to the nation's top center. McDermott earned a first-team spot on the Coaches' All-ACC team but only an honorable mention by the ACSMA. Disagreed with this selection.

The coaches also handed out the Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach, Offensive Rookie and Defensive Rookie of the Year awards. Freshman running back Jon Hilliman received one vote for Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Here are all the honorees:

2014 ACC Coaches' Award Winners and All-ACC Team
Coach of the Year
Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech (10)
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State (2)
David Cutcliffe, Duke (2)

Player of the Year
James Conner, RB, So.,Pitt (6)
Jameis Winston, QB, So., FSU (2)
Rashad Greene, WR, Sr., FSU (2)
Vic Beasley, DE, Sr., Clemson (1)
Jamison Crowder, WR, Sr., Duke (1)
Gerod Holliman, S, So.-R, Louisville, (1)
Duke Johnson, RB, Jr., Miami (1)

Offensive Player of the Year
James Conner, RB, So., Pitt (8)
Jameis Winston, QB, So.-R, FSU (3)
Rashad Greene, WR, FSU (2)
Jamison Crowder, WR, Sr., Duke (1)

Defensive Player of the Year
Vic Beasley, DE, Sr., Clemson (7)
Gerod Holliman, S, So.-R, Louisville (5)
Denzel Perryman, LB, Sr., Miami, (2)

Rookie of the Year
Brad Kaaya, QB, Miami (7)
Quin Blanding, S, Virginia (4)
Dalvin Cook, RB, FSU (2)
Shaun Wilson, Duke (1)

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Brad Kaaya, QB, Miami (10)
Jon Hilliman, RB, Boston College (1)
Shaun Wilson, RB, Duke (1)
Dalvin Cook, RB FSU (1)
Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson (1)

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Quin Blanding, S, Virginia (8)
Mackensie Alexander, CB, Clemson (6)

1st Team Offense
WR Rashad Greene, Sr., Florida State* 39
WR Jamison Crowder, Sr., Duke* 35
WR Tyler Boyd, So., Pitt* 31
TE Nick O'Leary, Sr., Florida State* 36
T Cameron Erving, Sr.-R., Florida State* 38
T T.J. Clemmings, Sr.-R, Pitt 34
G Laken Tomlinson, Sr.-R, Duke* 30
G Tre' Jackson, Sr., Florida State * 28
C Shane McDermott, Sr., Miami* 22
QB Jameis Winston, So.-R, Florida State* 39
RB James Conner, So., Pitt 39
RB Duke Johnson, Jr., Miami* 38
K Roberto Aguayo, So.-R, Florida State* 39
Sp. Jamison Crowder, Sr., Duke* 25

2nd Team Offense
WR DeVante Parker, Sr., Louisville 28
WR Phillip Dorsett, Sr., Miami 24
WR DeAndre Smelter, Sr., Georgia Tech 22
TE Clive Walford, Sr.-R, Miami 25
T Ereck Flowers, Jr., Miami 21
T Jamon Brown, Sr., Louisville 18
G Shaquille Mason, Sr., Georgia Tech* 21
G Matt Rotheram, Sr.-R, Pitt 19
C Andy Gallik, Sr.-R, Boston College 21
QB Justin Thomas, So., Georgia Tech 18
RB Kevin Parks, Sr.-R, Virginia* 18
RB Zach Laskey, Sr., Georgia Tech 16
K Ian Frye, Jr.-R, Virginia 17
Sp. Tyler Boyd, So., Pitt 19

3rd Team Offense
WR Mike Williams, So., Clemson 21
WR Artavis Scott, Fr., Clemson 15
WR Ryan Switzer, So., North Carolina* 11
TE Gerald Christian, Sr.-R, Louisville 9
T Bobby Hart, Sr., Florida State 13
T Sean Hickey, Sr., Syracuse 11
G Bobby Vardaro, Sr.-R, Boston College 15
G Josue Matias, Sr., Florida State* 15
C Cameron Erving, Sr.-R, Florida State 16
QB Marquise Williams, Jr., North Carolina 8
RB Dalvin Cook, Fr., Florida State 15
RB Jon Hilliman, Fr., Boston College 10
K Ross Martin, Jr., Duke 14
Sp. Rashad Greene, Sr., Florida State 17

* Selected to the 1st, 2nd or 3rd Coaches' All-ACC Team in 2013

Honorable Mention: Offense (7 or more points):
QB--Anthony Boone, Sr.-R, Duke (7); RB--Shadrach Thornton, Jr., NC State (9); Karlos Williams, Sr., Florida State (8); Synjyn Days, Sr.-R, Georgia Tech (7); WR--Mack Hollins, So.-R, North Carolina (7); Isaiah Ford, Fr., Virginia Tech (7); T--Ian Silberman, Sr.-R, Boston College (9); Rob Crisp, Sr.-R, NC State (7); G--Jon Feliciano, Sr.-R, Miami (13); David Beasley, Sr.-R, Clemson (11); John Miller, Sr., Louisville (7). C--Matt Skura, Jr.-R, Duke; PK-Ammon Lakip, Jr., Clemson (9). SP--Darius Jennings, Sr., Virginia (7).

1st Team Defense
DE Vic Beasley, Sr.-R, Clemson* 39
DE Mario Edwards Jr., Jr., Florida State * 29
DT Grady Jarrett, Sr., Clemson 38
DT Eddie Goldman, Jr., Florida State 30
LB Denzel Perryman, Sr., Miami* 36
LB Stephone Anthony, Sr., Clemson* 31
LB Lorenzo Mauldin, Sr., Louisville 25
CB Kendall Fuller, So., Virginia Tech* 35
CB Garry Peters, Sr., Clemson 24
S Gerod Holliman, So.-R, Louisville 37
S Jalen Ramsey, So., Florida State 25
P Wil Baumann, Sr., NC State 30

2nd Team Defense
DE Dadi Nicolas, Jr.-R, Virginia Tech 25
DE Eli Harold, Jr., Virginia 20
DT Adam Gotsis, Jr., Georgia Tech 16
DT Corey Marshall, Jr.-R, Virginia Tech 13
LB David Helton, Sr., Duke 22
LB Terrance Smith, Jr.-R, Florida State 20
LB Henry Coley, Sr.-R, Virginia 15
CB P.J. Williams, Jr., Florida State 23
CB Kevin Johnson, Sr.-R, Wake Forest 21
S Quin Blanding, Fr., Virginia 21
S Jeremy Cash, Jr.-R, Duke* 17
P Alex Kinal, Jr.-R, Wake Forest 21

3rd Team Defense
DE Sheldon Rankins, Jr., Louisville 17
DE Anthony Chickillo, Sr., Miami 12
DT David Dean, Jr.-R, Virginia 12
DT Connor Wujciak, Jr., Boston College 12
LB Max Valles, So., Virginia 13
LB Quayshawn Nealy, Sr.-R, Georgia Tech 12
LB(tie)Josh Keyes, Sr., Boston College 10
LB(tie)Reggie Northrup, Jr., Florida State 10
LB(tie)Cameron Lynch, Sr., Syracuse 10
LB(tie)Brandon Chubb, Jr.-R, Wake Forest 10
CB Maurice Canady, Jr., Virginia 12
CB(tie)Merrill Noel, Sr.-R, Wake Forest 11
CB(tie)Ronald Darby, Jr., Florida State 11
S Jamal Golden, Jr., Georgia Tech 16
S Anthony Harris, Sr., Virginia 10
P(tie)Justin Vogel, So., Miami 12
P(tie) Will Monday, Jr.-R, Duke 12

* Selected to the 1st, 2nd or 3rd Coaches' All-ACC Coaches Team in 2013

Honorable Mention: Defense: (7 or more points)
DT--Tylor Harris, Jr., Wake Forest (11); Luther Maddy, Sr., Virginia Tech (11); Olsen Pierre, Sr., Miami (7); LB--Anthony Gonzalez, Sr.-R, Pitt (9); CB--Charles Gaines, Jr.-R, Louisville (10); Artie Burns, So., Miami (9); Mackensie Alexander, Fr.-R, Clemson (7); S--Robert Smith, Sr., Clemson (8); Deon Bush, Jr., Miami (7).