clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Florida State QB Jameis Winston Named ACC Player Of The Year

New, 18 comments

Beats out Andre Williams.

Streeter Lecka

The ACC awarded it's ACC Player of the Year today, and unfortunately it was not Andre Williams. As expected, Florida State freshman quarterback Jameis Winston won the award. Winston who led the ACC in almost every possible passing category (3,490 yards, 35 touchdowns and 8 interceptions) became the first redshirted freshman to win the award in ACC history. He received 47 of the 65 first place votes.

Second in the ACC Player of the Year voting was Boston College running back Andre Williams who received thirteen votes. AW who led the nation in rushing with 2102 yards, still will be in the talk for Heisman and Doak Walker Award. He would have been the second BC player to win the award, the other being Matt Ryan in 2007. In third place was Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald whom earlier this week was named the ACC defensive player of the year.

Congratulations to Winston. He truly had a fantastic season, and deserved the award. This most likely will be the first step he takes on the road to the Heisman (which barring legal problems he is favorited to win). And again congratulations to Andre Williams, who put together a season many BC fans will never forget.