clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WATTS WATCH: Patty Kazmaier Award Ceremony Start Time & How To Watch

BC Women’s Hockey’s freshman phenom looks to make history on Saturday morning

Rich Gagnon, BC Athletics

Saturday morning, USA Hockey will announce the 2018 winner of the Patty Kazmaier Award, given annually to the top player in Division I women’s college hockey. Boston College freshman Daryl Watts is one of the three finalists for the Patty Kaz — an honor that has never gone to any freshman or a sophomore in the 20 year history of the award.

It would be a historic achievement.

Sr. Victoria Bach, Forward, Boston University
Jr. Loren Gabel, Forward, Clarkson University
Fr. Daryl Watts, Forward, Boston College

The 2018 Patty Kazmaier Award Ceremony & Brunch, with the announcement of this years Patty Kazmaier Award winner:

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. Other selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

The McNamara Alumni Center, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Brunch begins at 10:30am EDT (9:30am CDT). After a short intro, speeches, and player backgrounds, the winner of the award will likely be announced sometime around 11:30am EDT.

The event will be streamed live at The stream will start shortly before the ceremony.

Read up on Daryl Watts’ Patty Kaz candidacy here. She’s considered a front-runner, but given that no freshman or sophomore has ever won the award, it would be a historic achievement should she win.