clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Eagles Named Patty Kazmaier Award Finalists

Award given to the top NCAA Division I women’s hockey player

John Quackenbos, BC Athletics

Lots of great BC-related news out of USA Hockey today!

After Team USA won Olympic gold over Canada last night for the first time since 1998, The USA Hockey Foundation announced on Thursday afternoon the ten finalists for the 2018 Patty Kazmaier Award, given annually to the top NCAA Division I women’s hockey player. BC fans will notice some familiar names on the list.

Eagle Forwards Caitrin Lonergan and Daryl Watts (the nation’s two leading scorers) and Eagle blueliner Toni Ann Miano (the nation’s top scoring defender) were all named to the list, meaning that 30% of the ten finalists play hockey on the Heights. Makenna Newkirk, the nation’s 6th leading scorer and one of BC’s team leaders, was snubbed from the list, almost certainly because having so many Eagles on one top ten lists makes fans of lesser programs feel insecure.

The ten finalists are:

Sr. Victoria Bach, F, Boston University
Sr. Sydney Baldwin, D, Minnesota
So. Kristen Campbell, G, Wisconsin
Jr. Loren Gabel, F, Clarkson University
Sr. Savannah Harmon, D, Clarkson University
Sr. Brittany Howard, F, Robert Morris University
So. Caitrin Lonergan, F, Boston College
Sr. Toni Ann Miano, D, Boston College
Sr. Shea Tiley, G, Clarkson
Fr. Daryl Watts, F, Boston College

Freshman Daryl Watts, the nation’s leading scorer by a large margin, is one of the favorites to win the award, but she’ll have to overcome the fact that neither a freshman nor a sophomore has ever won the Patty Kaz. Having said that, no freshman has ever been the best player in the country, either.

USA Hockey lists the award criteria on the award’s website:

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. Other selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

Boston College as a program has one Patty Kazmaier Award winner so far — Alex Carpenter, in 2015.

The final votes for the 2018 award go out on Monday, so the players trying to match the on- and off-ice prowess of Watts, Lonergan, and Miano don’t have much time to make their case. The Patty Kaz “Final Three” will be announced a week from today on Thursday, February 28th, with the winner announced on Saturday, March 17th in Minneapolis as part of Women’s Frozen Four weekend.

Congratulations to all three Eagles, and hopefully we get to see one of them holding the award next month!