clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Women’s Hockey’s Caitrin Lonergan Wins BCI’s Award for Female Rookie of the Year

Lonergan was a near-unanimous pick

John Quackenbos, BC Athletics

Yesterday, we kicked off the annual BCI Awards. The awards are voted on by the BC Interruption staff, and we’ve got several award categories to get through over the next couple weeks.

The first award of the year went to Ky Bowman who was recognized as the 2016-2017 BCI Male Rookie of the Year. Today we announce Bowman’s female counterpart.

2016-2017 BCI Female Rookie of the Year
Winner: Caitrin Lonergan

Lonergan came to the Heights with some pretty weighty expectations — she was originally committed to perennial powerhouse Harvard, but flipped her commitment to Boston College in November 2015. It was one of a number of signs over the last few years that BC has surpassed Harvard as the premier eastern NCAA women’s ice hockey program.

Lonergan was a huge recruiting coup. She was the top high school player in the east, as evidenced by being a two time member of the USA U18 team and being named the NEPSAC Player of the Year in high school.

With the Eagles graduating several players who had spent time on the US National Team, Lonergan was thrown into the fire and didn’t disappoint. She was 3rd on the team in goals and 4th in points and assists. Perhaps most impressively, she was 2nd nationally in points.

Caitrin Lonergan also scored one of the top goals in all of Boston College Hockey this season:


Caitrin Lonergan’s 2016-2017 Stats:

15-18—33 in 37 games, +12, 5-7—12 on the Power Play, 141 SOG (led team)

Lonergan was a near unanimous pick for Female Rookie of the Year, with her BC Women’s Hockey counterpart Delaney Belinskas getting the only extraneous vote (which was, incidentally, my vote). Belinskas played on the same line as Lonergan and was probably equally deserving of the award, leading the team in goals, and tying with Lonergan with points despite coming in as a (relatively) unheralded recruit.

Congratulations to Caitrin (and to Delaney)! BC Women’s Hockey is extremely fortunate to have them both for three more years.