clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019-2022 Women’s Frozen Four Sites Announced, All Four In The East

Boston to host in 2020

BC Athletics

In addition to the men’s hockey (and other sports) championship locations that were announced this afternoon, the future sites for the next several Women’s Frozen Fours were announced by the NCAA as well.

After the 2018 Women’s Frozen Four in Minneapolis (which was already known), the following four hosts will all be in the east — a bit of a surprise, given that the Gophers have made a habit of hosting seemingly every other tournament at Ridder Arena lately.

2018: Ridder Arena, Minneapolis MN (Hosted by Minnesota)
2019: TD Bank Sports Center, Hamden CT (Hosted by Quinnipiac)
2020: Agganis Arena, Boston MA (Hosted by Boston University)
2021: Erie Insurance Arena, Erie PA (Hosted by Mercyhurst)
2022: Pegula Ice Arena, University Park PA (Hosted by Penn State)

From a Boston College perspective, this sets up nicely. The Eagles are set to lose two or more current players to the 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang, and those players would be eligible to return in 2019.

The Eagles are currently on a 6-for-7 stretch of Frozen Fours (which is best in the nation). When combined with next year’s exceptionally strong incoming freshman class, it looks like the Eagles will have a few runs at a national title right here in the east.