clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jack Magee Named 2014 "ACC" Men's Basketball Tournament Legend

The former Eagles star led the program to its very first NCAA Tournament.


Jack Magee (Bronx, N.Y.), who helped lead Boston College to its first ever NCAA Tournament in 1957-58, was named to the Atlantic Coast Conference's 2014 Men's Basketball Tournament Legends Class on Wednesday. This year's Legends class will be honored at the ACC Men's Basketball Tournament in Greensboro on Saturday, March 15.

Magee was the leading scorer on the first Boston College team to reach the NCAA Tournament in 1957-58, averaging 15.5 points per game in leading the Eagles to a 16-6 record in his first of two seasons at BC. He and fellow BC Hall of Famer George Giersch were the heroes of the historic 1958 game against Holy Cross, when the Eagles defeated the Crusaders for the first time, 73-68.

Magee then led the Eagles to a 17-9 record as a senior, again leading the team in scoring with 13.1 points per game. He earned honorable mention NABC All-District honors in 1958.

After two years in the Army, Magee returned to BC as an assistant coach to Bob Cousy (1964-66) before becoming head coach at Georgetown, where he posted a six-year record of 68-79 (.463). He led the Hoyas to an 18-7 record in 1969-70.

He was inducted into the Boston College Varsity Club Athletic Hall of Fame in 1986. Originally a native of The Bronx, N.Y., he currently lives in Fairfax, Va.

The league has honored a former Eagle great as part of the Legends class every year since 2005-06. Perhaps one of these years BC's "ACC" legend will have actually played in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

2006: Dana Barros, guard (1985-89)
2007: Jay Murphy, center (1980-83)
2008: Bill Curley, center (1991-94)
2009: Danya Abrams, forward (1994-97)
2010: Terry Driscoll, forward (1967-69)
2011: Michael Adams, guard (1982-85)
2012: John Bagley, guard (1979-82)
2013: Gerry Ward, forward (1961-63)
2014: Jack Magee, guard (1957-59)

In addition to Magee, this year's "ACC" legends class includes: Wayne "Tree" Rollins (Clemson), Gene Banks (Duke), Al Thornton (Florida State), Travis Best (Georgia Tech), John Lucas (Maryland), Steve Edwards (Miami), Eric Montross (North Carolina Tar Heels), Julius Hodge (N.C. State), Pat Garrity (Notre Dame), Don Hennon (Pittsburgh), Dave Bing (Syracuse), Terry Holland (Virginia), Bobby Stevens (Virginia Tech), Sam Ivy (Wake Forest).