clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Basketball: Malcolm Huckaby Named ACC Legend

Former men's basketball standout Malcolm Huckaby has been named Boston College's representative for the 2015 ACC Basketball Legends presented by New York Life.

The ACC has announced the 2015 Legends class for men's basketball. Former Eagle great and current ESPN TV analyst Malcolm Huckaby is Boston College's representative.

Huckaby played in 126 games at BC, including 106 as a starter. He helped the Eagles earn two trips to the National Invitation Tournament (1992-93), followed by a memorable run to the NCAA Elite Eight in 1994 that featured a second-round upset of defending national champion North Carolina and a win over Indiana in the regional semifinals.

Huckaby scored 1,316 career points and still ranks 20th on BC's all-time scoring list. The Bristol, CT product was a three-time recipient of the Eagles' Defensive MVP award and made 198 steals during his Boston College career.

Huckaby is 20th on the Boston College scoring list with 1,316 career points; a mark recently surpassed by junior guard Olivier Hanlan earlier this season.

The league has honored a former Eagle great as part of the Legends class every year since 2005-06. Perhaps one of these years BC's "ACC" legend will have actually played in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

2006: Dana Barros, guard (1985-89)
2007: Jay Murphy, center (1980-83)
2008: Bill Curley, center (1991-94)
2009: Danya Abrams, forward (1994-97)
2010: Terry Driscoll, forward (1967-69)
2011: Michael Adams, guard (1982-85)
2012: John Bagley, guard (1979-82)
2013: Gerry Ward, forward (1961-63)
2014: Jack Magee, guard (1957-59)
2015: Malcolm Huckaby, guard (1990-94)

Any guesses on the 2016 "ACC" Legend? Give me Bob Carrington (1972-76), or Troy Bell if we are gonna start dipping into the 2000s here.

Congratulations to Malcolm!