clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Boston College Running Back Andre Williams, Consensus All-American

New, 20 comments

Named to first team AP All-America team.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Andre Williams, the already highly decorated Boston College running back, added another accolade to his impressive 2013 campaign: consensus All-American.

On Tuesday, the AP named Williams to its first-team All-America team, making the Eagles' running back three for three for first-team All-America honors recognized by the NCAA. Should Williams be named a first-team All-American by the coaches (American Football Coaches Association) and the writers (Football Writers Association of America), he'd be able to throw around the "unanimous All-American" label ... like a boss.

The senior running back becomes the school's 12th different consensus All-American, joining Luke Urban, Gene Goodreault, Mike Holovak, Doug Flutie, Tony Thurman, Mike Ruth, Pete Mitchell, Mike Cloud, William Green, Jamie Silva and Luke Kuechly x2.

Arizona junior running back Ka'Deem Carey is the AP's other first team selection at running back. Auburn's Tre Mason and Washington's Bishop Sankey earned second team honors, while a pair of Big Ten backs, Ohio State's Carlos Hyde and Nebraska's Ameer Abdullah picked up third-team AP honors.

From the ACC, Florida State's QB Jameis Winston, C Bryan Stork, K Robert Aguayo and CB Lamarcus Joyner and Pittsburgh DT Aaron Donald join Williams on the first team.

Williams was also recently honored by both Sports Illustrated and as a first-team selection, in addition to being tabbed as the nation's Most Surprising Player by four of nine college football writers.

Congratulations Andre!

2013 Associate Press All-America Team

First Team Offense

QB: Jameis Winston, Florida State
RB: Andre Williams, Boston College
RB: Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
OT: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OT: Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OG: Cyril Richardson, Baylor
OG: David Yankey, Stanford
C: Bryan Stork, Florida State
WR: Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
WR: Mike Evans, Texas A&M
TE: Jace Amaro, Texas Tech
All-purpose player: Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
K: Robert Aguayo, Florida State

First Team Defense

DE: Michael Sam, Missouri
DE: Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
DT: Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
DT: Will Sutton, Arizona State
LB: Anthony Barr, UCLA
LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB: Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
CB: Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
CB: Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
S: Cody Prewitt, Mississippi
S: Deone Bucannon, Washington State
P: Tom Hornsey, Memphis