clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Florida State's Jameis Winston Wins The Heisman Trophy

New, 32 comments

Boston College's Andre Williams finishes fourth.

Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston became the second straight redshirt freshman to win the Heisman, taking college football's top individual honor on Saturday night.

Alabama QB A.J. McCarron finished second while Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch finished third in the voting. Boston College RB Andre Williams finished fourth, Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel finished fifth and Auburn RB Tre Mason finished sixth.

Winston drew 668 first-place votes and 2,205 points from the media and former winners. McCarron finished with 704 points and Jordan Lynch third with 558. Williams (470 votes), Manziel (421) and Mason (404) round out the top six. The closest of the six regions was the Northeast, where Williams (132 points) finished second behind Winston (339 points). A.J. McCarron finished third in the Northeast with 130 points.

Only one other Eagle NOT named Doug Flutie has come as close to the Heisman Trophy as Williams and that happened way back in 1942, when Boston College senior running back Mike Holovak finished fourth.

The slightest bit of disappointment that Williams, who rushed for more yards than each of the last two Heisman Trophy-winning running backs, didn't place higher in the voting. But if we are being honest with ourselves, BC's "pensive punisher" and Doak Walker Award winner was playing with house money after making the trip to New York.

Winston, Florida State's redshirt freshman quarterback, has had a record-setting season, throwing for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns and leading the FBS in passing efficiency with a rating of 190.1. Winston ranks in the Top 10 nationally in completion percentage (67.9%), touchdown passes (38), passing yards (3,820), passing yards per game (190.06), yards per completion (16.12), points responsible for (252) and points per game (53.0).

The Hueytown, Alabama native has one more game this season, when the top-ranked Seminoles play no. 2 Auburn in the final BCS National Championship Game on January 6.

Winston becomes the third Florida State player to win the Heisman, joining quarterbacks Charlie Ward (1993) and Chris Weinke (2000). He also becomes the youngest Heisman Trophy winner in the award's 79-year history and the ACC's first Heisman Trophy winner in 13 seasons.

Congratulations to Jameis Winston and Florida State, but also to Andre Williams on a truly remarkable and record-breaking season. Williams repped BC well all college football award season and truly embodies the school's "Ever to excel" motto. One couldn't ask for a finer representative of Boston College. I personally can't wait to get to Shreveport and watch Williams truck fools like he's got a Super Mario invincibility star one final time in the Independence Bowl vs. Arizona.