clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2013 Heisman Trophy Announcement Open Thread: #Andre44Heisman

New, 95 comments

Catch the 79th annual trophy presentation at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Boston College senior running back Andre Williams probably ... isn't winning the 79th Heisman Trophy tonight, but that should take nothing away from Williams' incredible season. Plus, what a great way for the football program to market itself as first year coach Steve Addazio attempts to bring Boston College football back to prominence.

Watch tonight's Heisman Trophy presentation among friends and chat up the ceremony here. Pertinent details below.

79th Annual Heisman Trophy Presentation

Date and Time: Saturday, Dec. 14, 8 p.m. Eastern
Location: New York City
TV: ESPN and WatchESPN


  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois senior QB - Broke own NCAA record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 1,881 AND threw for 2,676 yards, 23 touchdowns and 7 INTs
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M sophomore QB - Last year's winner had an even better year statistically in 2013, averaging 368.2 yards of total offense per game.
  • Tre Mason, Auburn junior RB - Broke two SEC title game records with 304 rushing yards and four touchdowns to power Auburn to the BCS National Championship Game
  • A.J. McCarron, Alabama senior QB - Led the Crimson Tide to an 11-1 regular season, throwing for 2,676 yards (identical to Lynch), 26 TDs and just 5 INTs.
  • Andre Williams, Boston College senior RB - Set ACC records for rushing yards in a game (339) and a season (2,102), becoming the FBS's first 2,000 yard rusher in five seasons. Currently ninth on the NCAA's single-season rushing yardage list.
  • Jameis Winston, Florida State RS freshman QB - Set FBS freshmen passing records for yards (3,820) and TDs (38) in leading Florida State to a 13-0 season and a BCS National Championship Game berth

Voting detailsvia SB Nation: "The winner will be determined by 870 members of the media -- 145 each from six predetermined regions -- and 57 former Heisman winners who are all eligible to vote on the award. Fans who vote online through a Nissan-sponsored promotion are also worth one vote, bringing the total of voters to 928. Their ballots allow for a maximum of three votes, with three points being awarded to a first-place selection, two points awarded to a second-place selection and one point awarded to third place."

Go Andre! Go Eagles!