clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andre Williams Wins The 2013 Doak Walker Award

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors makes it official. Andre Williams is the best running back in the nation.


Clearly we're biased, but as Eagles fans we knew deep down that Andre Williams is the best running back in America this season. On Thursday night, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors made it official, awarding Boston College's senior running back the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top college running back.

Just let that sink in for a moment. The best running back in college football plays on the Heights.

Williams holds off Arizona junior running back Ka'Deem Carey and Washington junior running back Bishop Sankey to win this year's Doak Walker Award. He becomes the sixth 2,000-yard rusher to win the award given to the nation's best running back.

The Schnecksville, Pennsylvania native ran for 2,102 yards and 17 touchdowns on 329 rushing attempts this season. His 2,102 rushing yards over 12 games shattered the school and conference record for rushing yards in a season; a total that represents the ninth greatest rushing season in the history of college football. In fact, only four past Heisman Trophy winners -- Barry Sanders, Marcus Allen, Mike Rozier and Ricky Williams -- ran for more yards in a season when they won the stiff arm trophy. Williams leads the nation in yards (2,102), attempts (329), yards per game (175.2), 200-yard games (five) and 250-yard games (four). His 339-yard rushing performance against N.C. State is the top-single game rushing output in the FBS this season.

Williams accounted for 51.7 percent of the Eagles' total offense -- an astronomical number for a running back and the highest by any FBS back in the past 10 seasons. Oh, and the bruising, 6-foot, 227-pound back straight up punishes any and all defenders that attempt to tackle him by doing things like this.

And this.

And of course this.

Williams is the first Boston College and ACC running back to earn the Doak Walker Award. The Award, presented annually since 1990, is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. It is the only major college football award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Former winners include Rashaan Salaam (Colorado), Eddie George (Ohio State), Ricky Williams (Texas), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU), Reggie Bush (USC), Darren McFadden (Arkansas) and most recently, Montee Ball (Wisconsin); a distinguished group of running backs that includes four Heisman Trophy winners.

Congratulations to Andre on an incredible individual accomplishment, but also to the Boston College offensive line (Matt Patchan, Bobby Vardaro, Andy Gallik, Harris Williams and Ian White) and backs (Myles Willis, Jake Sinkovec, Bobby Wolford) that helped paved the way for Williams. The coaching staff (Steve Addazio and OC Ryan Day) as well as the Boston College athletics department also deserve credit for generating even more media buzz the past few weeks for the Heisman Trophy hopeful.

Goes without saying, but one of the best offensive performances in school history by a guy NOT named Doug Flutie. Now if you'll excuse me, I need to keep working on my cloning machine so that we can clone Dre Will and Sir Jerry York.