clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andre Williams Named Doak Walker Award Finalist

The opportunities for hardware is already starting to pile up for Williams.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

BC's big boy running back was named a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's premier running back according to a press release today by ESPN. Along with Washington's Bishop Sankey and Arizona's Ka'deem Carey, Williams will be find out the winner on Thursday December 12th at 7pm (televised on ESPN).

Let's see how the three backs stack up:

Name Team Yr Pos G Att Yards Avg. TD Att/G Yards/G
Andre Williams BC SR RB 11 320 2073 6.48 16 29.09 188.45
Ka'Deem Carey Arizona JR RB 10 290 1559 5.38 16 29 155.9
Bishop Sankey Washington JR RB 11 272 1575 5.79 17 24.73 143.18

Clearly Andre Williams has the edge on his competitors in every category, which should make him the odds on favorite to win the award when it's announced. Boston College has never had a Doak Walker Award Winner, since the award was first given in 1990.

Other award finalists were announced as well today and are listed below. Go Andre!

Chuck Bednarik Award, College Defensive Player of the Year
Anthony Barr, UCLA
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Biletnikoff Award, Nation's Outstanding College Receiver
Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
Mike Evans, Texas A&M
Sammy Watkins, Clemson

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, Nation's Outstanding Placekicker
Robert Aguayo, Florida State
Anthony Fera, Texas
Marvin Kloss, South Florida

Ray Guy Award, College Punter of the Year
Tom Hornsey, Memphis
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
Cody Webster, Purdue

Maxwell Award, College Player of the Year
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Jameis Winston, Florida State

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, Nation's Best Quarterback
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Jameis Winston, Florida State

Outland Trophy, Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Jim Thorpe Award, Nation's Best Defensive Back
Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State