clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Awards Watch [Lists]: Maxwell & Davey O’Brien

Boston College vs Pittsburgh Staff Photo By Stuart Cahill/MediaNews Group/Boston Herald via Getty Images

College football’s preseason awards watch list season is underway. A slew of committees have been revealing their lists since yesterday. We’ll keep an eye on which Eagles find their names on which list, not that the selections are a be-all, end-all. Anyone can still win their respective awards, but this is a good way to familiarize with the landscape of different position groups and to get more hyped about the upcoming season.

Phil Jurkovec was named to the Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, given annually to the nation’s top quarterback. The preseason watch list includes 30 signal-callers around the country.

The Eagles quarterback has high expectations entering his second year with the program. Given the lofty numbers he posted in a very abbreviated offseason, Jurkovec has caught the eye of many around the league as well. He threw for 255.8 yards per game, good for 26th in the nation, and 17 touchdowns.

The official Davey O’Brien QB Class will be announced on October 25th. From there, 16 semi-finalists will be selected on November 8th, followed by three finalists two weeks later.

But wait, there’s more.

On Monday, Jurkovec alongside Zay Flowers were both named to the Maxwell Award Watch List. The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the best all-around player in college football. Boston College’s two selections tied Clemson for the most in the ACC. The pair of juniors both lead a BC offense that has high expectations.

Flowers was named first team All-ACC, only the second receiver ever honored in school history (Alex Amidon, 2012). He had 892 yards receiving and nine touchdowns, both top 20 in the country.

The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF), XOS ThunderCloud and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 1st, while the three finalists will be unveiled November 22.

Here’s the schedule for the rest of the watch lists:

  • July 21: Doak Walker Award [Running Backs]
  • July 22: Biletnikoff Award [Wide Receivers]
  • July 23: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy [Tight Ends, Centers]
  • July 26: Butkus Award, Paycom Jim Thorpe Award [Linebackers, Defensive Backs]
  • July 27: Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy [Defensive Player, Interior Lineman]
  • July 28: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award [Place Kickers, Punters]
  • July 29: Paul Horning Award, Wuerffel Trophy [Most Versatile, Community Service]
  • July 30: Walter Camp Award [Player of the Year]