clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Charlotte North Is A Tewaaraton Award Finalist. Here’s Who She’s Up Against

The Tewaarton Award winner will be announced on Saturday

2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship
Charlotte North is amongst five finalists for the award.
Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Even though the Boston College Eagles as a team already won the country’s top trophy, there are still individual awards to be won.

After a year’s hiatus due to COVID-19, The Tewaaraton Foundation is preparing to award its namesake trophy Saturday during halftime of a Premier Lacrosse League game in Foxborough.

The Eagles will once again have representation in the finalist pool, as Charlotte North will be amongst the five women considered for the award, seeking to join Sam Apuzzo on the illustrious list of Eagles who have brought their sport’s top individual award back to the Heights.

But who are the others? Let’s break it down.

Lizzie Colson

Defense, Maryland, Graduate Student

As strong as North has been attacking, Colson has been just as strong defending. Colson was named the Big Ten Defender of the Year, and led the league in caused turnovers with 49, good enough for second in Maryland’s illustrious lacrosse history. Colson also provides a good feel-good story, as her 2021 season marked a return from an ACL tear.

Taylor Moreno

Goalie, North Carolina, Senior

The Huntington, N.Y. native was first team All-America, and had the second best goals against average and save percentage in the country while playing a brutal ACC schedule. Her highlight of the season may have been holding Syracuse to a scoreless drought for the last 15:25 of the ACC championship game to preserve a 9-4 win. Moreno also has one more year at North Carolina.

Jamie Ortega

Attack, North Carolina, Senior

Moreno’s teammate joined Moreno on the First-Team All America. Ortega was the catalyst of much of North Carolina’s offensive output this year, and had a knack for finding the net, with one of the best shooting percentages in the nation. Ortega was named the ACC Attacker of the Year. Ortega had the third highest goal output in the country.

Izzy Scane

Attack, Northwestern, Junior

Scane was the most consistently deadly offensive force in the county, leading the country in goals per game by a fairly wide margin. Scane was the Big Ten Attacker of the year and Big Ten Tournament MVP. In Northwestern’s defeat of Maryland in the Big Ten championship, Scane almost singlehandedly outscored the Terrapins with nine goals. Scane now holds the single season program record for goals scored. Scane scored the second most goals in the country this season.

Charlotte North

Attack, Boston College, Senior

And now, the familiar face. There isn’t a ton to say about North that hasn’t already been said. North set an NCAA record for goals scored in a single season with 101 goals tallied, including key goals in the championship game. North was also named first-team All American, and was named IWLCA Player of the Week three times. There isn’t much more that can be said other than just listing accolades, so it’s probably worth noting that even with a number of very strong Tewaaraton candidates in the program’s history, North may just be the most decorated, and she’s going to be a very hard candidate to beat.


The award will be presented at halftime of Saturday’s 5 PM game; we’ll have coverage once the winner is announced. If North wins, she would join Sam Apuzzo, Daryl Watts, Alex Carpenter, Johnny Gaudreau, Mike Mottau, David Emma, and Doug Flutie as Eagles who won their sport’s top individual award.