clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BC Interruption’s 2021 “Off the Field” Moment of the Year is Charlotte North’s Tewaaraton Win

2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

For a year that kept fans away from games, there sure were a lot of exciting events happening off the court/field/ice this season. Receiving votes in BC Interruption’s “Best Off the Field Moment” category were the announcement of the new basketball facility, Jim Christian getting fired, this photo, the New Balance Deal, Joe Tessitore calling his son’s play, and BC baseball getting the highest ranking in program history. But the power of Charlotte North prevailed, and our winner this year is her Tewaaraton Award victory.

The Tewaaraton Award is given to two players every year: the best men’s and women’s NCAA lacrosse players in the country. The awards are voted on by selection committees comprised of college lacrosse coaches.

This season, North was up against Maryland’s Lizzie Colson, UNC’s Taylor Moreno and Jamie Ortega, and Northwestern’s Izzy Scane. Although the winner wasn’t announced until June 5, it became pretty clear that North was going to be the one to take it home when she scored her 101st goal of the season during the National Championship game, breaking the NCAA single season scoring record.

This year’s award ceremony was held at Gillette Stadium, making North’s win a little sweeter since she was close to campus and her whole team was there with her.

North is the second Tewaaraton winner in BC history - Sam Apuzzo was BC’s first winner in 2018. The Eagles are now one of only three women’s teams to have multiple Tewaaraton winners (Maryland has 9 and Northwestern has 5). North’s win is just another addition to the evidence that Coach Acacia Walker-Weinstein is gathering to show that Boston College is here to stay as a women’s lacrosse power school.