clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jerry York Named to the US Hockey Hall of Fame

COLLEGE HOCKEY: FEB 10 Beanpot Tournament - Consolation Game - Boston College v Harvard Photo by Fred Kfoury III/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

On Monday night, Jerry York was named to the class of 2020 for US Hockey Hall of Fame. He joins Dean Blais, Jenny Potter, and Tony Granato, and the four will be officially inducted in December 2021.

Last November, Coach York was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, becoming the first solely-NCAA coach to be honored at that level. He becomes the 10th Eagle to receive an induction into the US Hockey Hall of Fame, joining coaches Snooks Kelley & Len Ceglarski.

As we all know, Jerry York is a hockey legend — the upcoming 2020-21 season will be his 49th as a DI head coach and his 27th at Boston College. He remains the winningest college hockey coach of all time, with 1,091 career wins - 143 more than the next closest coach. With BC, he has won four national championships (2001, 2008, 2010, and 2012), nine Hockey East titles, 11 Hockey East regular season championships, and 12 Frozen Four berths.

It’s no secret that York has impacted hockey in a way that will positively affect the game for years to come. Congratulations, Coach York!