clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sam Apuzzo and Dempsey Arsenault Named to Tewaaraton Finalist List

This is the first time 2 Eagles have been finalists

2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship - Semifinals Photo by Omar Rawlings/Getty Images

2018 Tewaaraton Award winner Sam Apuzzo has been named a finalist for the award again in 2019, and this time she is joined on the list by fellow Eagle Dempsey Arsenault. Apuzzo and Arsenault, both seniors, are the first pair of Eagles to be named finalists together.

Apuzzo, who was the fastest player in program history to score 100 points and who holds BC records in points, goals, and draw controls, is in the midst of her third 100 point season. Apuzzo currently has 104 points, 76 goals, 26 assists, 35 ground balls, and 150 draw control wins. She is consistently considered one of the top players in women’s lacrosse and was the #1 pick in the Women’s Professional Lacrosse League draft this spring.

Arsenault would be the number one star player on any other team and is an outstanding player in her own right. She was recently named the ACC Midfielder of the Year, and leads BC with 36 ground balls so far this season. She is second on the team with 57 goals, and third (behind Kenzie Kent) with 80 points.

The Tewaaraton, which is given to the best player in women’s and men’s lacrosse each year, will be awarded on May 30th.