clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The #9 Best Boston College Sports Moment of the 2010s is Jerry York Breaking the NCAA Hockey All-Time Wins Record/Hitting 1,000 Career Wins

A Legend

Boston College v Massachusetts-Lowell Photo by Richard T Gagnon/Getty Images

Our ninth best moment in BC sports during the 2010s is more of a series of moments of Jerry York winning a heck of a lot of hockey games. During this decade, Coach York hit a pair of major milestones: he became the winningest coach in NCAA hockey history with win #925 in 2012 and he reached 1,000 career wins in 2016. Watching a legendary head coach crush previous coaching records has been a fun running thread through the decade.

#York925 happened on the road as BC defeated Alabama Huntsville 5-2 in the first round of the Mariucci Classic in Minnesota on December 29, 2012. The Eagles took an early lead in this one, scoring 4 unanswered goals to start the game (3 in the first period alone). Cam Spiro started the scoring for the Eagles, picking up 1 of his 6 career goals as an Eagle. Bill Arnold, Danny Linnell (the game-winner), and Pat Mullane would score the next 3 goals giving BC a 4-0 lead before Alabama Huntsville got on the board with a powerplay goal 5 minutes into the second. Each team scored once in the third (with Steve Whitney getting the BC tally), and the Eagles came away with a 5-2 victory to earn their coach his record breaking win.

Just over 4 years later, Coach York earned his 1,000th career victory as a head coach with another road win, this time at UMass. The Eagles completely dominated the Minutemen in an 8-0 blowout to help Coach York reach this amazing milestone. Ian McCoshen opened the scoring just under 4 minutes into the game, and BC ran with it from there. 14 different Eagles recorded points in their coach’s big game: McCoshen (1 G), Alex Tuch (1 G, 1 A), Chris Calnan (1 G, 1 A), Colin White (1 G, 1 A), Miles Wood, (1 G, 1 A), Austin Cangelosi (1 G), Teddy Doherty (1 G, 1 A), Ryan Fitzgerald (1 G, 1 A), Matthew Gaudreau (2 A), Josh Couturier (1 A), Steve Santini (1 A), Zach Sanford (1 A), Scott Savage (1 A), and Michael Kim (1 A). Thatcher Demko recorded a 20 save shutout to secure the victory.

As of today, Coach York has a 1067-650-120 overall record, with a 125–87–3 record at Clarkson, a 342–248–31 record from his time at Bowling Green and a 600–315–86 record since joining BC in 1994. He has won 5 NCAA Championships (4 at BC), 10 Hockey East regular season titles, 9 Hockey East Tournament Championships, and 9 Beanpot Championships.

Here’s to many more wins in the next decade!