clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Boston College Women’s Lacrosse is BC Interruption’s 2018 Team of the Year

In a unanimous vote, the women’s lacrosse team is the team of the year

Kathryn Riley

For the second year in a row, the Boston College women’s lacrosse team is the unanimous winner of BC Interruption’s Team of the Year award. The women’s lacrosse team continues to improve every year, even when there does not seem to be much to improve on.

This year, in what many expected to be a bit of a rebuilding year, the Eagles went undefeated in the regular season, lost only twice in the post season (in the NCAA Finals and the ACC Finals), had 3 players in Tewaaraton Award consideration including the eventual winner Sam Apuzzo, and defeated Maryland for the first time in program history.

During the regular season, BC defeated 10 ranked teams beating #15 Notre Dame 13-11, #19 UMass 16-9, #11 Navy 20-14, #12 USC 13-12, #5 UNC 17-11, #7 UVA 15-12, #15 Duke 18-18, #17 Dartmouth 13-10, #13 Virginia Tech 9-7, and #16 Syracuse 13-12. In the postseason, BC also defeated Stony Brook and Maryland in huge milestones for the program. The Eagles averaged 15.7 goals per game, 9.7 goals against per game, and 16.4 draw control wins per game.

Congrats to the women’s lacrosse team on another phenomenal season!