clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Acacia Walker-Weinstein is the 2018 BC Interruption Coach of the Year Winner

New, 3 comments

This is the second year straight that Coach Walker has won this award

NCAA Lacrosse: Women's Lacrosse Championship-James Madison vs Boston College Chris Bergmann-USA TODAY Sports

For the second year in a row, Acacia Walker-Weinstein has won the BC Interruption Coach of the Year award after leading Boston College women’s lacrosse to the NCAA Championships. Coach Walker had some competition from Katie King Crowley and Jim Christian this year, but was the near-unanimous winner.

Walker had led the Eagles to 2 straight NCAA Championship games, and this year helped coach Sam Apuzzo into becoming the first ever Tewaaraton Award winner from BC. This season, she also helped BC to stay undefeated in the regular season, with the team’s only losses coming in the ACC Championship and the NCAA Finals.

Coach Walker has shown the ability to change her gameplay mid-game in order to give BC the best chance of winning, which has earned the Eagles a reputation as a second-half team. Many of BC’s wins the season came thanks to second-half comebacks, including the overtime victory over Stony Brook and the program’s first victory against Maryland.

Coach Walker has also continued to be great at recruiting, and the Eagles are projected to be one of the top teams in the country again next year thanks to 3 top recruits and returning players like Sam Apuzzo, Dempsey Arsenault, Elizabeth Miller, and Kenzie Kent.