clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sam Apuzzo Wins 2018 Tewaaraton Award

Apuzzo was the only non-senior nominated

Kathryn Riley

Sam Apuzzo was announced tonight as the winner of the 2018 women’s Tewaaraton Award, which is awarded to the best D1 NCAA lacrosse player every year. Apuzzo is the second BC athlete to win the top award in her sport this year, as Daryl Watts won the Patty Kazmaier Award for women’s hockey.

Apuzzo led the Eagles with 88 points, 41 assists, and 129 points over just 24 games. She also led the Eagles with 163 draw control wins and 31 caused turnovers. Overall, Apuzzo was 3rd in the NCAA in points and goals and 10th in draw controls per game.

A strong all-around player, Apuzzo was instrumental in helping lead BC to an undefeated regular season and a second straight NCAA Finals appearance. She was also the ACC Attacker of the Year and was named to the Inside Lacrosse Division I Media All-American First Team.

Apuzzo, a junior, was the only non-senior up for this award. A junior, she defeated seniors from James Madison (Kristen Gaudian), UNC (Marie McCool), Stony Brook (Kylie Ohlmiller), and Maryland (Megan Whittle) to win the Tewaaraton. She is the first Eagle to win the award.

In addition to Apuzzo’s win, former Boston College lacrosse player Welles Crowther was honored as the Spirit of Tewaaraton winner. Crowther heroically gave up his own life to save others on 9/11 and continues to be remembered as “The Man in the Red Bandana”. A special statuette was created for Welles’ family in honor of his sacrifice.