clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sam Apuzzo Named to Tewaaraton Top 5 Finalist List

Go Sam!

Kathryn Riley

Earlier this evening, Sam Apuzzo was named one of the 5 finalists for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award, which is given annually to the top female and male lacrosse players in the NCAA. Apuzzo is the only Eagle to make the final 5, although teammates Dempsey Arsenault and Elizabeth Miller were named to the top 25 list.

Apuzzo is fourth in the NCAA with 79 goals so far this season. She is also third in the NCAA with 112 points. Apuzzo has set a number of program records at BC, including 127 draw controls and 27 caused turnovers (later broken by Arsenault’s 28) in a single season this year. She has 256 career points, 180 career goals, and 231 career draw control wins. Apuzzo is definitely considered one of the favorites to win the Tewaaraton this season.

The 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held May 31, 2018 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC.