clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles Win 3 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Awards

BC won more awards than any other school

The ACC announced the conference’s end of season awards today, with 3 out of the 5 going to Boston College Eagles (UNC took home Midfielder of the Year and Freshman of the Year). Sam Apuzzo, Elizabeth Miller, and Coach Walker took home awards for BC.

Unsurprisingly, Sam Apuzzo earned Attacker of the Year honors from the ACC. Apuzzo led the ACC with 34 in-conference points and 4.86 points per game in the ACC. She also scored 11 goals in the ACC Tournament. Overall, Apuzzo has 112 points this season. She was a 4-time ACC Offensive Player of the Week this year.

Elizabeth Miller, who is one of the most solid defenders in the NCAA, was named the ACC Defender of the Year. Miller is one of the main reasons that BC has allowed only 71 goals to be scored by ACC opponents, plus she has a career high 6 goals this season.

Acacia Walker-Weinstein led BC to a 17-0 regular season this year, and the Eagles are currently having their best season yet at 19-1. A phenomenal coach and recruiter, she has built BC women’s lacrosse into one of the top programs in the country.

Congrats to all of the winners and good luck to BC in the NCAA Tournament!