clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 Men’s Soccer Preview

Boston College soccer has enjoyed success over the last few years with both individual players and team success. Alejandro Bedoya, Charlie Davies, Kyle Bekker, and Zeiko Lewis have all seen great success in their time at the Heights which has led to Bekker and Lewis becoming first round picks in the MLS and Bedoya and Davies starting their careers overseas before returning to the MLS. However, with Zeiko leaving the program last year, he must pass the torch to the next generation of men’s soccer players and the Eagles must move on to 2017.

After going 8-8-3 through the ACC tournament, the Eagles advanced to the NCAA tournament where they beat Fordham University 1-0 before losing to the University at Albany, 3-0. Last year, the aforementioned Lewis led the Eagles in points with 19 (7 goals, 5 assists), while fellow senior Max Schulze-Geisthovel was second, tallying seven goals and one assist on the season. However, out of the nine Eagles that registered points in 2016, six are back in Chestnut Hill this year, including sophomore Callum Johnson, and juniors Trevor Davock, Simon Enstrom, and Raphael Salama.

Last year, eight ACC teams made the Sweet 16 in the NCAA tournament (Louisville, Notre Dame, Wake Forest, Virginia Tech, North Carolina, Syracuse, Clemson, Virginia), five made the Elite 8 (North Carolina, Clemson, Notre Dame, Louisville, Wake Forest), two made the Final Four (UNC, Wake Forest), and one (Wake Forest) lost in the National Championship to Stanford. With in conference games against Wake Forest, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Notre Dame, Clemson, and Syracuse and an out of conference game against Providence (Elite 8 in 2016), this year’s schedule is packed with tough teams.

If Johnson, Davock, and Enstrom can build upon their strong offensive years, goalkeeper Cedric Saladin can build upon his strong year in net, and defenders Younes Boudadi, Tomas Gudmundsson, and Salama can continue to be steady defenders, the Eagles should be able to be an NCAA tournament team again in 2017.