clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Names 2017 Boston College Varsity Club Hall of Fame Class

The 9 honorees will be inducted this fall

Boston College has announced the 8 former players and 1 former coach that will be inducted in the Boston College Varsity Club Hall of Fame this fall. After a ceremony on October 6, 2017, they will be honored at halftime of the football game against Virginia Tech on October 7.

This year’s honorees are as follows:

Troy Bell (Men’s Basketball): As the basketball program’s leading scorer, it is a bit surprising that Bell hasn’t been inducted into BC’s Hall of Fame before now. Bell has 2,632 career points at BC and holds records in 3-pointers (300), free throws (810) and free throw percentage (.868).

Scott Clemmensen (Men's Ice Hockey): Clemmensen led Boston College MIH to their first NCAA Championship in the Jerry York era. He has 99 career wins at BC and holds BC NCAA Tournament records with 10 wins and 356 saves. Clemmensen had a long NHL career after leaving BC, most of which was spent with the Devils.

Bill Guerin (Men's Ice Hockey): Guerin spent 2 seasons at BC and has 70 career points with the Eagles. Guerin has won 2 Stanley Cups as a player and 2 as an executive and was recently named GM of the AHL Penguins.

Dan Koppen (Football): Koppen is one of BC football’s most famous centers, thanks in part to a career with the New England Patriots. While at BC, Koppen earned all-conference honors three times.

Colin McLane (Men's Lacrosse): McLane is the program leader in goals scored and had 151 career points as an Eagle. His brother, Kevin, was also a BC lacrosse star.

Kate (Antos) Mikkelson (Women's Ice Hockey): Mikkelson’s success was an important factor in helping BC to upgrade to a D1 program. She recorded 52 points during the squad’s first D1 season.

Erik Storz (Football): Storz, who graduated in 1998, was BC athletics’ MVP in 1997. He has 19 career sacks with the Eagles, good for the 4th all time best in program history.

Tom O'Brien (Football): O’Brien is the winningest coach in BC Football history with a 75-45 career record. He led BC to eight consecutive bowl games and rebuilt the program into a respected entity.

Henry Woronicz (Football): Woronicz was a member of BC’s highly celebrated 1940 football team. His blocked punt in the Sugar Bowl helped lead to a BC victory, defeating Tennessee 19-13.

Congrats to all the inductees!