clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Emily Pfalzer Captains Buffalo Beauts to Isobel Cup Win

The Beauts are the 2nd team to win the Isobel Cup.

The Buffalo Beauts earned a surprise victory over the Boston Pride today to win the 2017 Isobel Cup. The Isobel Cup is the NWHL’s championship trophy and is named after Lord Stanley’s daughter. Pfalzer and the Beauts earned a 3-2 win over the Boston Pride, who had only lost a single game this season prior to today.

Pfalzer, who has been the Beauts’s captain since their inception last season, is the only former Eagle on the Beauts. Pfalzer contributed great defense for Buffalo throughout the season, and had a particularly great defensive game in today’s championship matchup.

Pfalzer and the Beauts defeated 4 former Eagles on the Pride: Lexi Bender, Blake Bolden, Alex Carpenter (who scored Boston’s first goal), and Emily Field. The Pride won the inaugural Isobel Cup last season and were heavy favorites to repeat as champions.

Congrats to Emily Pfalzer and all of the Beauts on their win!