clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Ryan Named MVP by Pro Football Writers of America

Congrats to Matty Ice!

Divisional Round - Seattle Seahawks v Atlanta Falcons Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Yesterday the Pro Football Writers of America announced that their 2016-17 MVP is Matt Ryan, of the Atlanta Falcons. Ryan was previously honored by the PFWA in 2008, earning Offensive Rookie of the Year honors.

Ryan, one of BC’s most recognizable alumni, played for the Eagles from 2004-2007. He graduated with a total of 67 touchdowns (11 rushing and 56 passing) and 9,313 passing yards. Ryan was drafted 3rd overall by the Atlanta Falcons in the 2008 Draft and has spent his entire pro career in Atlanta. (Can he come back and play at BC?)

Ryan has had a terrific 2016 season, shutting down the doubters after a rough 2015. He threw for a team-record 503 yards and four touchdowns early this season against the Carolina Panthers. In October he also set an NFL record for most consecutive games with at least 200 passing yards, doing so in 46 games. Thanks to his great season, Ryan was selected to the Pro Bowl for the 4th time is his career and was named First-team All Pro.

Ryan and the Falcons will continue to chase a Superbowl appearance on Sunday the 22nd at 3 PM when they take on the Green Bay Packers.