clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Junior Championship Bronze Medal Game: Game Time, How To Watch, GameThread and More

New, 1 comment

It's one last go for the US in Helsinki

Richard Wolowicz/Getty Images

It's not the game the US wanted to be playing in today, but the Americans will have a chance to leave Helsinki with a medal if they can win the Bronze Medal game of the World Junior Championships against Sweden. Both the US and Sweden will be looking to bounce back from narrow losses to rivals—the Swedes lost 2-1 to Finland, while the Americans also lost 2-1 to Russia. Which team will be able to overcome the disappointment, play a strong 60 minutes, and fly home happy?

Game Facts

USA vs. Sweden
2015 World Junior Hockey Championship Bronze Medal Game
Hartwall Arena
Helsinki, Finland

Game Time: 4 PM Helsinki time, 9 AM Eastern time, 6 AM Pacific time

TV information: NHL Network will carry the game, with Steve Mears, Dave Starman and Jill Savage on the call.

Last matchup: The US and Sweden faced one another in group play, with the Swedes hanging on for a 1-0 victory despite a 40+ shot onslaught by the Americans.

What's at stake: The Americans have just 8 medals all time in World Junior play: 3 golds, 1 silver and 4 bronze. A bronze medal victory would be the US's best performance since winning gold in 2013, and their first bronze medal since 2011. In 2012, 2014 and 2015, the Americans failed to medal, putting a damper on an otherwise successful stretch (gold in 2010 and 2013, plus bronze in 2011).

Today's other game: Host nation Finland takes on Russia in the gold medal game, to be broadcast live on NHL Network at 1:30 PM ET.

Will you be watching along at home today? Leave your thoughts here—go USA!