clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston College Football: Defensive Coordinator Don Brown Nominated For Broyles Award

Can the Dude win this prestigious award?

Boston College football has not had a good season overall, but the defense has done their job in keeping BC in almost every game. Today Eagles defensive coordinator Don Brown was rewarded when he was nominated for the Broyles Award given to the coordinator of the year.

Brown's defense has been stellar, ranking 1st in the country in terms of scoring, rushing, and 13th in passing. His defenses held FSU to 14 points, Notre Dame to 19, and Duke to 9. Even with the scores allowed, BC's defense was put in difficult situations time and time again, and continually bailed out the offense. Brown's crew did yeoman's work and the defense went from average to elite in the span of 10 months.

The five finalists for the Broyles Award will be announced on Monday, November, 30. The 2015 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 8th at 11:30 a.m. The following are the other nominees for the award.

• Alabama - Kirby Smart, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
• Arkansas - Dan Enos, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Arkansas State - Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
• Baylor - Kendal Briles, Offensive Coordinator
• Boston College - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
• Bowling Green State - Sean Lewis, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Central Michigan - Greg Colby, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
• Clemson - Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator, Linebackers
• Colorado State - Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
• Florida - Geoff Collins, Defensive Coordinator
• Florida State - Charles Kelly, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs
• Georgia Southern - Dell McGee, Running Backs
• Georgia State - Jesse Minter, Defensive Coordinator
• Houston - Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator
• Indiana - Greg Frey, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
• Iowa - Greg Davis, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
• Louisiana Tech - Tony Petersen, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Marshall - Chuck Heater, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs
• Memphis - Brad Cornelsen, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Michigan - Tim Drevno, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
• Mississippi State - Brian Johnson, Quarterbacks
• Navy - Dale Pehrson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line
• NC State - Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line
• North Carolina - Gene Chizik, Defensive Coordinator
• Ole Miss - Dan Werner, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Oklahoma - Lincoln Riley, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• South Florida - Danny Hope, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Run Game
• Temple - Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator
• Toledo - Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator
• UCLA - Noel Mazzone, Offensive Coordinator
• USC - Tee Martin, WR/Pass Game Coordinator
• Utah State - Dave Ungerer, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
• Washington State University - Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
• Wisconsin - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

This is the third year in a row that he has been nominated. Good luck Coach Brown!