clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Stanley Cup Finals: Boston College's Ben Smith Wins The Stanley Cup

Becomes the 10th Eagle to have his name sketched on Lord Stanley's Cup.

Bruce Bennett

This news is bittersweet for all you Boston College / Bruins fans, but congratulations are in order to former Eagles forward Ben Smith and the Chicago Blackhawks. With 1:16 to play, Chicago erased a 1-goal deficit by scoring two goals 17 seconds apart to take Game 6 and capture the franchise's second Cup in four years.

By playing in Game 3 of the Stanley Cup Finals, Ben Smith will have his named etched on Lord Stanley's Cup. Smith becomes the 16th overall and 10th different former Boston College player to have his name on the Cup. While at BC, the former Eagles assistant captain was a big part of one of the most successful classes in program history. The Avon, Connecticut native helped lead the program to three National Championship title game appearances over his four-year career, winning titles in 2008 and 2010.

Smith was selected by the Blackhawks in the sixth round (169th overall) of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.

The complete list of former Eagles who have hoisted Lord Stanley's Cup.

1989: Joe Mullen, Calgary Flames
1991: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1991: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1994: Brian Leetch, New York Rangers
1995: Bill Guerin, New Jersey Devils
1997: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
1998: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
2003: Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils
2007: Ryan Shannon, Anaheim Ducks
2009: Rob Scuderi, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Brooks Orpik, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Bill Guerin, Pittsburgh Penguins
2012: Rob Scuderi, Los Angeles Kings
2013: Ben Smith, Chicago Blackhawks

Go Eagles!