clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Andre Williams Named Walter Camp Finalist

New, 22 comments

Joins Winston, Manziel, Lynch and McCarron for player of the year award

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Andre Williams has been announced as a finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. This award is generally a pre-cursor to those who will be Heisman finalists, although does not necessarily mean that Williams will be invited to New York for the actual ceremony.

AW, the only running back on the list, is joined by FSU QB and presumed Heisman front runner, Jameis Winston, Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch and Alabama QB AJ McCarron as Camp finalists.

This bodes really well for Williams to capture top RB honors (Doak Walker Award) as well as being considered for other national player of the year awards (Heisman and Maxwell).

Doug Flutie in 1984 was the only Boston College player to previously capture the Walter Camp.

The winners for all awards outside the Heisman will be presented on ESPN on December 12 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show from Walt Disney World.