clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Johnny Gaudreau Becomes Fourth Eagle To Capture World Junior Gold


Congratulations to Boston College hockey's Johnny Gaudreau, who along with the U.S. National team, captured the gold medal in the 2013 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship in Ufa, Russia.

To put the accomplishment in perspective, Gaudreau becomes just the fourth Eagle to capture WJC gold in the tournament. Gaudreau joins Patrick Eaves (2004) and Chris Kreider (2010), who earned the gold medal for the Americans, and Dan Bertram (2006-07), who was a member of back-to-back gold-medal winning teams for Canada, as Boston College gold medal winners.

The Boston College sophomore forward is the 21st Eagle to participate in the World Juniors under Coach York, and 35th overall. Below is a breakdown of Boston College Eagles to play in the World Juniors by medal count.

IIHF WJC Gold Medalists (5)

2004 - Patrick Eaves, United States
2006 - Dan Bertram, Canada
2007 - Dan Bertram, Canada
2010 - Chris Kreider, United States
2013 - Johnny Gaudreau, United States

IIHF WJC Silver Medalists (3)

1997 - Blake Bellefeuille, United States
1997 - Jeff Farkas, United States
1997 - Marty Reasoner, United States

IIHF WJC Bronze Medalists (8)

1986 - Greg Brown, United States
1986 - Craig Janney, United States
1986 - Brian Leetch, United States
1986 - Dan Shea, United States
2007 - Nathan Gerbe, United States
2011 - Patrick Wey, United States
2011 - Chris Kreider, United States
2011 - Brian Dumoulin, United States

In addition, BC alum and former NHL coach John Cunniff helped lead the Americans to the Bronze medal in the 1992 World Juniors serving as assistant coach.