clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Boston College Hockey Players Named To All-Academic Team

On Wednesday, Hockey East announced that a league-record 100 student-athletes were named to the league's 2011-12 All-Academic Team. Boston College earned six honorees.

BC's Patrick Brown, Brooks Dyroff, Isaac MacLeod, Pat Mullane, Michael Sit and Patrick Wey were all honored for their work in the classroom. Dyroff is a three time honoree, while Brown, MacLeod and Wey are two-time honorees. Congratulations to all honorees.

Merrimack and Vermont tied for the most honorees this year with 14. The rest of the conference broke down as follows: Maine (13), New Hampshire (12), Providence (11), Massachusetts (10), Lowell (9), Northeastern (7), Boston College (6) and Boston University (4).

With the NCAA releasing multi-year APR scores yesterday, Boston College's score of 969 was actually the lowest mark in Hockey East for 2010-11. Admittedly, it's difficult to use APR on a comparative basis given different academic standards and the fact that players can leave the program for a variety of reasons unrelated to hockey. But there's that. BC likely gets hit hard this year given a number of players jumping early to the pros. Atkinson and Jimmy Hayes come to mind as players that would have counted against BC hockey's APR score for the 2010-11 reporting year.

New Hampshire and Boston University (!) received perfect 1000 APR scores for 2010-11. Maine (997), UMass (988), Merrimack (981), Northeastern (977), UMass-Lowell (976), Providence (974) and Vermont (970) round out the rest of the conference.

Overall, men's ice hockey had the best Academic Progress Rate of all NCAA Division I men's sports in 2010-11. In the last four years, hockey has trailed only gymnastics for tops in APR.