clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Stanley Cup Finals: Rob Scuderi Wins The Stanley Cup, Again

Getty Images

It was a Cup Finals where Boston College couldn't lose. Congratulations to former Eagles blueliner Rob Scuderi and the Los Angeles Kings on winning the 2012 Stanley Cup. The Kings routed the Devils 6-1 en route to the franchise's first ever Stanley Cup.

Scuderi becomes the 15th former Boston College player to have his name etched on Lord Stanley's Cup and just the fifth to win more than one Cup (after his 2009 title in Pittsburgh). He joins Bill Guerin (1995, 2009), Doug Brown (1997, 1998), Kevin Stevens (1991, 1992) and Joe Mullen (1989, 1991, 1992) as the only former BC players to win more than one.

The Kings defensemen left it all out on the ice last night -- literally -- suffering a devastating hit from New Jersey's Steve Bernier which left Scuderi bloodied and down on the ice for some time. As you can see above, Scuderi was able to return to drink from Lord Stanley's Cup after receiving a few stitches, so it's all good.

The complete list of former Eagles who have hoisted Lord Stanley's Cup.

1989: Joe Mullen, Calgary Flames
1991: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1991: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1994: Brian Leetch, New York Rangers
1995: Bill Guerin, New Jersey Devils
1997: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
1998: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
2003: Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils
2007: Ryan Shannon, Anaheim Ducks
2009: Rob Scuderi, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Brooks Orpik, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Bill Guerin, Pittsburgh Penguins
2012: Rob Scuderi, Los Angeles Kings

Go Eagles!