clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Another Boston College Eagle Will Etch Name On Lord Stanley's Cup

Getty Images

This has been assured for a few days now, but the New Jersey Devils just made the names official. With New Jersey's 3-2 overtime victory over the New York Rangers in Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Finals, another former Boston College Eagle will have his name etched on Lord Stanley's Cup.

Congrats to the Los Angeles Kings Rob Scuderi and the New Jersey Devils Stephen Gionta and Peter Harrold on reaching the Stanley Cup Finals.

Should the Kings win, Scuderi would Bill Guerin (1995, 2009), Doug Brown (1997, 1998), Kevin Stevens (1991, 1992) and Joe Mullen (1989, 1991, 1992) as the only former Eagles to win the Stanley Cup more than once. Gionta and Harrold would become the 10th and 11th Boston College hockey alum to have their name etched on the cup.

The Giontas, Brian and Stephen, would also become the first pair of BC brothers to win a Stanley Cup. And with the same franchise, no less.

The complete list of former Eagles who have hoisted Lord Stanley's Cup.

1989: Joe Mullen, Calgary Flames
1991: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1991: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Joe Mullen, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Kevin Stevens, Pittsburgh Penguins
1994: Brian Leetch, New York Rangers
1995: Bill Guerin, New Jersey Devils
1997: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
1998: Doug Brown, Detroit Red Wings
2003: Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils
2007: Ryan Shannon, Anaheim Ducks
2009: Rob Scuderi, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Brooks Orpik, Pittsburgh Penguins
2009: Bill Guerin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Go Eagles!