clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jerry York Named Finalist For Spencer Penrose Award

Getty Images

Jerry York was named one of seven finalists for this year's Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I coach of the year by the American Hockey Coaches Association. All four Frozen Four programs -- BC's Jerry York, Minnesota's Don Lucia, Ferris State's Bob Daniels and Union's Rick Bennett -- are represented annually on the finalists list, along with the conference Coach of the Year winners -- UMass-Lowell's Norm Bazin, Michigan Tech's Mel Pearson and Bentley College's Ryan Soderquist.

Three of the coaches on this year's lists are past recipients of the award. York won the award in 1977 at Clarkson, Lucia in 1994 while at Colorado College and Daniels in 2003.

Boston College coaching legends John "Snooks" Kelley and Len Ceglarski each won the Spencer Penrose Award twice while coaching on the Heights. Kelley in 1959 and 1972 and Ceglarski in 1973 and 1985. Ceglarski took home a third Spencer Penrose Award in 1966 while at Clarkson.

Seems almost incredible that for all the team accomplishments that the Eagles hockey team has taken home over the past decade plus, York has never earned the highest individual award of his craft while at Boston College (or Bowling Green, for that matter). If there was ever a year to honor York for his exhaustive list of accomplishments, including becoming only the second coach all-time to eclipse the 900-win mark, this seems like the year to do so. Though I doubt York really cares and I'd be surprised to here York's name called next weekend.

The winner will be announced April 6 at the Frozen Four in Tampa.