clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Frozen Four Set: Union, Ferris State, Minnesota And Boston College

Getty Images

The 2012 Frozen Four has been set. Union (NY), Ferris State, Minnesota and Boston College will compete for the 2012 NCAA Men's Division I Ice Hockey Championship on April 5 and 7th at the Tampa Bay Times Forum in Tampa, Florida.

No. 1 Union defeated Michigan State 3-1 and UMass-Lowell 4-2 to reach the Frozen Four for the first time in program history. This will also be the first time since 2003 that the ECAC will be represented in the Frozen Four.

Ferris State emerged from the Midwest Regional after knocking off Denver and Cornell by identical 2-1 scores. The Bulldogs are also making their first Frozen Four in school history in only their second ever NCAA Tournament appearance (2003 the other).

West Regional host Minnesota knocked off Boston University 7-3 before sending the top-seeded North Dakota Fighting Sioux home in a 5-2 rout.

Finally, the tournament's top seeded Boston College Eagles pitched a pair of shutouts -- 2-0 over Air Force and 4-0 over Minnesota-Duluth -- to advance to the program's 23rd Frozen Four and fifth in the last seven years.

With Union, Ferris State, Minnesota and BC in this year's Frozen Four, the ECAC, CCHA, WCHA and Hockey East regular season champs have all advanced to Tampa.

Union-Ferris State will be the first National Semifinal on April 5 at 4:30 (ESPN) while BC and Minnesota is a 8 PM start on ESPN2.

No. 1 Union (26-7-7) vs. No. 2 Ferris State (25-11-5) -- 4:30 PM, ESPNU & ESPN3
No. 1 Boston College (31-10-1) vs. No. 2 Minnesota (28-13-1) -- 8 PM, ESPN2 & ESPN3

Two more wins. See you in Tampa.

Go Eagles!