clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011-12 USBWA Men's Basketball Awards Ballot

As a member of the US Basketball Writers Association, I'm eligible to vote for the 2011-12 USBWA All-District and All-America teams as well as the player (Oscar Robertson Trophy), coach (Henry Iba Award) and freshman of the year (Wayman Tisdale Award) awards. This is the first year I'll be voting for these awards and I need your help.

I can vote up to 10 players to the USBWA All-America Team, as well as for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, Henry Iba Award and Wayman Tisdale Award.

Oscar Robertson Trophy Player of the Year nominees include Harrison Barnes (North Carolina); Isaiah Canaan (Murray State); Anthony Davis (Kentucky); Marcus Denmon (Missouri); Draymond Green (Michigan State); John Henson (North Carolina); John Jenkins (Vanderbilt); Kevin Jones (West Virginia); Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Kentucky); Jeremy Lamb (Connecticut); Perry Jones III (Baylor); Damian Lillard (Weber State); Doug McDermott (Creighton); Mike Moser (UNLV); Arnett Moultrie (Mississippi State); Thomas Robinson (Kansas); Mike Scott (Virginia); Jared Sullinger (Ohio State); Cody Zeller (Indiana); Tyler Zeller (North Carolina).

Freshman of the year nominees include Anthony Davis (Kentucky); Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Kentucky); Austin Rivers (Duke); Tony Wroten (Washington); Cody Zeller (Indiana). Last year's Wayman Tisdale Award winner was Ohio State's Jared Sullinger.

And while there's no short list of nominees for the Henry Iba Award, BC does have a past winner to its name, as Al Skinner took home the award in 2000-01.

In addition, I'll also be voting for the USBWA All-District team (up to 10 spots), the District Player of the Year and the District Coach of the Year. This is where it gets a bit tricky, as only players / coaches from programs in Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Connecticut are eligible for voting.

Thoughts on any of these awards, particularly the All-District team? I mean, outside of Storrs those states have been a college hoops wasteland this year (and even the defending champs aren't all that good this year). And no, I'm not voting for Jim Calhoun for District Coach of the Year, but thanks for asking.

I have until Sunday, March 4 at midnight to vote. Gracias.