clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Donnie Fletcher Named To 2011 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

The preseason watch list accolades keep rolling in for the Eagles. This time, it's CB Donnie Fletcher being named to the 2011 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list. A total of 37 names made the Thorpe Award initial list, given to the nation's top defensive back.

Last season, Fletcher tallied five interceptions, tied for third-best in the ACC behind only Virginia Tech's Jayron Hosley and Virginia's Chase Minnifield. In three seasons, Fletcher has nine INTs for 58 yards.

Fletcher is joined by six other ACC defensive backs on this year's Thorpe list -- Hosley, Minnifield, Miami SS Ray Ray Armstrong, Florida State CBs Greg Reid and Xavier Rhodes and Maryland FS Kenny Tate.

Fletcher is also on the preseason watch list for the Bednarik Award, awarded to the top defensive player in the nation.

The 2011 Jim Thorpe Award winner will be unveiled at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 8 (9 PM on ESPN).