clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Boston College Hockey: Season-Ending Awards Updates

Getty Images

Congrats to Boston College sophomore forward Brooks Dyroff, who was named 16th recipient of the BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award. Dyroff was honored for his work co-founding the non-profit CEO 4 Teens:

"The 21 year-old Dyroff co-founded CEO 4 Teens, a nonprofit organization that offers educational opportunities to teenagers in third-world countries. He also created a microfinance program to benefit CEO 4 Teens scholarship recipients upon completion of the program. An avid filmmaker, Dyroff has produced two documentaries about the organization's nonprofit work in Indonesia.

Dyroff also established a mentor program between the BC hockey players and the Saint Columbkille Partnership School in Brighton."

Be sure to check out the great work Brooks is doing with CEO 4 Teens by visiting the website You can also follow CEO 4 Teens on Twitter (@CEO4Teens) and on Facebook.

Dyroff's former teammate, Cam Atkinson, missed out on winning this year's 2011 Hobey Baker Award. That honor went to Miami's Andy Miele, who becomes the first Miami RedHawk to ever win the award. Miele beat out Atkinson and North Dakota's Matt Frattin to win this year's Hobey.

Miele becomes the first award winner not to make that year's Frozen Four since Denver's Matt Carle won the award in 2006. If Frattin got the Sioux to the National Championship Game, I think he would have came away with the hardware. Since North Dakota fell short of the title game (again), I don't really have a problem with giving the award to the nation's leading scorer.

Finally, three Eagles earned AHCA All-American honors as announced on Friday. Atkinson and Brian Dumoulin earned first-team honors while goaltender John Muse captured second-team honors. It's the first time since 2008 that BC has had an All-American (Gerbe) and first time since 2006 that BC has placed multiple players on the first team (Chris Collins, Peter Harrold and Cory Schneider). Congrats to Atkinson, Dumoulin and Muse.