clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Luke Kuechly Wins 2011 Lott IMPACT Trophy

The offseason of Luke continues.

Boston College's junior linebacker took home the Lott IMPACT Trophy last night. The Lott Trophy is a relative newcomer on the postseason college football award scene, with the award only given annually since 2004. The award is given to the Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. IMPACT is an acronym for: integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community, and tenacity.

Kuechly beat out Texas' Emmanuel Acho, Alabama's Don'ta Hightower and Notre Dame's Manti Te'o for the award. He becomes the first player from the ACC to take home the trophy.

Having already collected the 2011 Butkus Award, Rotary Lombardi Award and Lott IMPACT Trophy (as well as being named a Walter Camp and FWAA All-American), Kuechly is off to Charlotte tonight for the 2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy presentation. Kuechly joins Alabama safety Mark Barron, LSU cornerback Morris Claiborne, Illinois end Whitney Mercilus and Penn State tackle Devon Still as the five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy, awarded by the FWAA to the nation's best defensive player. Last season, Kuechly was a finalist for the Nagurski, only to be beat out by Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers.

Best of luck to #40 tonight. Go Eagles!