clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Browsing The College Football Coaching Bargain Bin

Yesterday, A.J. took a look at USA Today's comprehensive college football coach salary database, noting that Boston College has paid Spaz roughly $359,000 per win this season. This sounds like a lot of cash, until you take a look at other coaches salary per win figures. As it turns out, BC is still getting somewhat of a bargain relative to other programs in the conference.

How would you like to be a Maryland Terrapins football fan right now? Not only is your school considering cutting seven programs due to budget constraints, but you've also paid first-year coach Randy Edsall over $1 million dollars a win this season. $1,006,720 to be exact. #dreamjob and #DebbieYowFiscalPolicies

The only coaches that are paid more per win this season are Kansas's Turner Gill ($1,050,600 for two wins over McNeese State and Northern Illinois) and Indiana's Kevin Wilson ($1,260,000, one hefty price tag for a home win over South Carolina State!). Oh, and Howard Schnellenberger, who is being paid INFINITY for the Owls 0-9 record.

Getting back to the ACC, Duke has paid coach David Cutcliffe $587,632 for each of the Blue Devils three wins this season, while Wake has paid Jim Grobe $455,109 for each of the Demon Deacons' five wins. And so on and so forth down the line ...

Jimbo Fisher -- $392,857 a win
Tom O'Brien -- $375,590 a win
Frank Spaziani -- $359,803 a win

So Spaz is only the sixth most overpaid coach in the conference. Win?

On the other end of the spectrum, North Carolina's Everett Withers has been paid just $83,333 for the Heels' six victories this season. Withers is also the lowest paid coach in a BCS AQ conference as he attempts to clean up the mess left by Butch Davis.

Below is a list of the 16 Division I-A head coaches paid less per win than Everett Withers. Call this the college football coaching bargain bin. While there's a lot of Sun Belt, MAC and WAC coaches on this list, there are also a few solid (and affordable!) gets on this list, including Mario Cristobal, Larry Fedora and Dave Doeren. DeFilippo, please take note.

-- $82,864 -- Mario Cristobal (Florida International)
-- $78,741 -- Mike Price (UTEP)
-- $78,278 -- Larry Fedora (Southern Miss)
-- $76,750 -- Sonny Dykes (Louisiana Tech)
-- $75,850 -- Bill Cubit (Western Michigan)
-- $75,000 -- Darrell Hazell (Kent State)
-- $75,000 -- Todd Berry (Louisiana-Monroe)
-- $73,159 -- Chris Ault (Nevada)
-- $68,590 -- Tim Beckman (Toledo)
-- $68,050 -- Frank Solich (Ohio)
-- $58,383 -- Pete Lembo (Ball State)
-- $57,225 -- Ron English (Eastern Michigan)
-- $46,375 -- Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois)
-- $45,125 -- Mark Hudspeth (Louisiana-Lafayette)
-- $45,000 -- Willie Taggart (Western Kentucky)
-- $25,270 -- Hugh Freeze (Arkansas State)

Just $25k for one of Arkansas State's eight wins this season? Someone pay this man!