clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Luke Kuechly Named Semifinalist For 2011 Chuck Bednarik Award

via <a href=""></a>

Just another day at the office for BC's Luke Kuechly.

Fresh off being named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award ... and a quarterfinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy ... and a semifinalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award, #40 added yet another accolade to his laundry list of accomplishments.

On Monday, Kuechly was named one of sixteen semifinalists for the 2011 Chuck Bednarik Award, awarded to the nation's most outstanding defensive player by the Maxwell Football Club. Kuechly was a finalist for the Bednarik last season, but the award went to LSU's Patrick Petersen.

The other fifteen Bednarik semifinalists include: DB Mark Barron (Alabama), LB Arthur Brown (Kansas State), LB Vontaze Burfict (Arizona State), DB Morris Claiborne (LSU), LB Lavonte David (Nebraska), LB Don'ta Hightower (Alabama), DL Melvin Ingram (South Carolina), DB Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), DL Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), LB Sean Spence (Miami), DL Devon Still (Penn State), LB Manti Te'o (Notre Dame), LB Chase Thomas (Stanford), LB Courtney Upshaw (Alabama) and DL Jerel Worthy (Michigan State).

Three finalists for the 2011 Bednarik Award will be announced on November 21, and the winner will be announced on December 8 as part of ESPN College Football Awards Show.

It's a Luke Kuechly world. We're all just living in it.